All our children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is a framework designed to support each child’s individual learning to give your child the best possible start in life. The EYFS has four themes:  ‘A Unique Child’, ‘Positive Relationships’, ‘Enabling Environments’ and ‘Learning and Development’, and these underpin all of the guidance within the seven distinct areas of learning and development which are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Physical Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


The emphasis is on learning through play, which we facilitate with a long term topic plan and also with carefully planned activities, both adult-led and free choice. The nursery practitioners are specially trained to observe and record the children so that their unique needs and interests can be met. Your child will have their own individual ‘Learning Journey’, which we record using written observations, photographs, ‘wow’ moments and examples of their work.

A ‘Key Person’ will be assigned to your child after a settling in period of around two weeks. This is to allow time for your child to be able to make a choice of carer.

Your child will be assessed at the age of two, three and four. All targets and achievements will be discussed at parent’s evenings with the child’s key person and the nursery will share information to compile the summative assessments with outside agencies to ensure families get the correct support levels.

child biting.jpg
authentic resources.jpg

Additional Resources

take home bear.jpg
sharing book scheme.jpg